Figure Skating: 11th Annual ISI Open Skating Competition 2013

DSC00064Figure Skating: 11th Annual ISI Open Skating Competition 2013

Feature Article: by Lily Adeline Rockwood

Saturday was my first ISI figure skating competition. It was exciting, and also a little scary at the same time. I competed against three other girls. I only knew one of them, her name is Kelly. She is a really good skater.  As we were getting ready for our performances, Kelly was a really great encouragement to me. She kept telling me that I looked really pretty, or that she knew that I would do well. I really appreciated that, because I was pretty nervous. We both did well I think.

While I was waiting for it to be my turn to skate, my friend Ella and I went up-stairs, and did my makeup. It was fun! She is talented at doing costume makeup. We always have to wear a lot of makeup during performances so our faces can be seen by the judges under the lights from far away.  It looked really good when she was done, and I got lots of compliments on it.

When it was about twenty minutes until I had to get on the ice for warm up, I ran down stairs, grabbed my skates, put them on, and found Ellen, my instructor. She helped me stretch and warm up off the ice. Warming up is important so when you get on the ice, your jumps and spins are at their best.  Also, the ice is really cold, so it helps to have everything already moving by the time you get there.

When I got on the ice to perform, it kind of felt like the world was revolving around me. It was a good feeling. The music I chose was “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban.  They played it louder than I expected them to, but I felt like my jumps were higher than they usually are.  Over all, this performance was the best I have ever done, so far!  I got fourth place!

You can see Lily’s routine here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0hGGDxHKYM

Making progress!

One Comment to “Figure Skating: 11th Annual ISI Open Skating Competition 2013”

  1. Lily, Congratulations on your award for 4th place! I love the photo with you and Karenne…it is beautiful! Karenne seems to be enjoying the moment as much and there she is with a white feather and she used to be afraid of feathers….makes me smile! Thank you so much for including her even though it is your moment to shine! Yes the music seemed to be somewhat loud at one point, but you stayed focused continuing your routine and completing it. I see a gift in you of strength, grace, and determination to compete to the best of your ability. You stayed upright and calm with pose, good performance routine, not perfect, but as you wrote…”making progress!” The song you selected is one of my favorites too and very inspirational! Excellent choice for your figure skating routine. Keep reaching for your goals while enjoying the journey! You are beautiful~

Leave a Reply

