Grandma’s Thoughts On How To Be A Great Mother

Today I talked to my grandma about the qualities a mother needs to teach her children, especially about faith and teaching them how to base their decisions on gospel truths.

It’s a big subject, but grandma told me that one of the most important things to know was that a mother needs to believe what she tells her children.  The next thing is to make sure you do what you tell your children to do.  If you tell your child not to yell and then you yell, what are they going to learn they should do?  They won’t listen to what you say, they will copy you.   You could tell your children to go to church, but if you don’t go yourself, why would they believe you when you said it was important?  They won’t go to church, they’ll stay home with you instead.  That’s not a good way to teach them good principles.  If you’re going to teach it, do it.

The opposite is also true, if you teach your children not to yell, and you try your best to have a good attitude and soft voice, full of love for them, they will feel your love for them and see that it is important that they not raise their voices.  Your example shows them the way they should be.  If you go to church, and your children see you attending, see your good attitude, and that it is a meaningful part of your life, they will see for themselves why it is important, and they will follow.

My grandma raised ten children, she knows a lot about raising children.  I think she’s right.  If you don’t believe her, try it!  I’ve seen my grandma speak kindly, and I’ve seen her go to church.  I know it’s important to her.  I know from watching her, that she wouldn’t lead anyone astray.  For one, she’s honest.  If she says she will do something, she does it.  Once when I was staying at my grandma’s house, I asked her if she would wake me up when she went to milk the cows.  I was already awake at that time, but she came to wake me up anyway, just like she said she would.  Another time, she promised that I could help her, and she followed through and let me help her with her project.

The thing I know about my grandma is what my mom says:  “She does what she says and she says what she does!”  She’s always teaching us how to be better, both by her example and by her words.

Even though I have seen her example many times, I think the talk with my grandma helped me see more clearly how to be a great mother, grandmother and leader.

–by Ava Victoria Rockwood (age 13)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

